Search:    

Free help: USER GUIDE

Contact Us

Home >  Clients & Profits X User Guide > Accounting  > Posting Client Payments

  Clients & Profits X Online User Guide

Search the user guide:


glossary
Contents
  • Currently 4.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Rating: 4.0/5
(1 vote cast)

  • Helpful?
  • 0 Yes
  • 0 No

Posting a client payment updates the client account balance, unpaid invoices in Accounts Receivable and the General Ledger

When client payments are first added they are unposted. Unposted invoices can be easily changed, letting you edit payment amounts before the client balances are updated. Posting is a methodical process that updates clients, invoices, and the General Ledger. The process is the same whether you’re posting one payment or many payments.

Unposted payments don’t appear on cash reports, agings, the bank rec, or financial reports. This offers users an opportunity to proof their work before posting. (Once a payment is posted, the payment amounts, client, invoice, and credit and debit accounts can’t be changed.)

Client payments must be posted. They can be posted individually, as needed, or, payments can be posted in batches. Client payments should be proofed for accuracy before they are posted. Proofing lets you check your payments for errors (such as the wrong invoice being paid), then make the appropriate changes. Proofing lets you avoid making time-consuming fixes to posted payments.

Invoices should be posted regularly, even daily. Daily posting ensures that your job, billing, and client reports are timely and accurate. You can post invoices while others are using Clients & Profits X; however, other users may notice slower performance and possibly temporary padlocks. If you’re batch posting many invoices, it’s best to wait until the system is relatively inactive -- this makes posting faster.

If a client payment is posted but needs to be changed, it can be “unposted.” Unposting, obviously, reverses posting: the client’s balance increases, the invoice is marked as unpaid, and reversing journal entries are posted into the General Ledger. Once unposted, a client payment can be changed or deleted -- or posted again. Payments can’t be unposted if their accounting period is locked.

Unposting is a user-defined setting in Access Privileges. This means certain users can be allowed to unpost client payments, while other users can’t.


What does posting do?

Posting is a methodical process that updates clients, invoices, and the General Ledger. The process is the same whether you’re posting one payment or many payments. Here’s what happens during posting:

The client’s account balance decreases by the payment’s total.

The Accounts Receivable account in the General Ledger is debited for the total payment, using a debit journal entry.

The payment amounts are applied to client invoices. The invoice’s balance decreases by the payment amount. If the invoice is fully paid, it is removed from the A/R aging.

Each payment line item credits an A/R account in the General Ledger, making a credit journal entry. The A/R account is copied from the invoice (reversing the debit made to A/R when the invoice was posted).

If a payment line had an adjustment (such as an early-payment discount, late fee, finance charge, etc.), debit and credit journal entries are posted into the General Ledger.


Posting client payments doesn’t affect job tickets, although the job’s invoices will appear as “paid” (or whatever’s applicable) on the Job Billings report.

To proof your work

Client payments should be proofed before they are posted. Proofing lets users check their payments for errors, then make the appropriate changes quickly. Proofing lets you avoid making time-consuming fixes (such as unposting or adjusting journal entries) to fix posted payments. There are several proofing options, such as selecting only the payments you added, that make the process more efficient.

To print a proof list

1 From the Client Payments window, choose File > Post.

The Post Client Payments window opens, prompting you to choose your proofing/posting options. The print proof list first option is always chosen by default.

2 Enter your proof list options, then click Proof.

You can proof just the payments you added by checking the proof/post only payments added by option then entering your initials. You can print proof lists for a specific person’s payments by checking this option then entering their initials. Otherwise, all unposted payments will be printed on the proof list.

You can also limit the proof list to only show payments added in a particular accounting period by checking the batch post only payments for period option then entering a period number. Any period can be selected. This option and the proof/post payments added by option can be used together.

The proof list can be printed to the printer automatically by checking the always print proof lists to the printer option in Accounting preferences. Use this option when your company requires a hard-copy printout of proof lists to be filed every time.


To post one client payment

1 From the Client Payments window, find an unposted payment.

2 Choose File > Post.

3 Select the Post PMT# option.

The currently-displayed payment is automatically selected for posting.

4 Click Post.

To post all unposted client payments

1 Choose File > Post.

2 Click on the post all unposted payments option.

3 Click Post.

If you have many payments to post, the posting process may take several minutes. A progress bar shows which payment is currently being posted.

If a batch posting is canceled (due to a system crash, power failure, etc.) immediately batch post the invoices again; posting will pick up where it left off.


To post only the client payments you’ve added

1 Choose File > Post.

2 Click on the post all unposted payments option.

3 Select the proof/post only payments added by option, then enter your initials.

4 Click Post.

This option posts only the payments that you’ve added. The batch post only entries added for period option posts only payments that have the same accounting period. This option lets you post invoices from last month, for example, skipping new client payments added this month.

To unpost a client payment

Client payments can be unposted (i.e., reversed) once they’ve been posted. The unposting procedure is simple, but it is only available if the payment’s accounting period is not locked.

1 Find the client payment you wish to unpost.

2 Choose File > Post.

3 Click on the Unpost PMT# option.

4 Click Unpost.

Unposting creates reversing debit and credit entries in the General Ledger. These journal entries have today’s date, but contain the same reference number, period, and amounts as the original entries.

Unposting invoices is a user-defined setting in Access Privileges-- so you can control who has the ability to unpost. Once a payment is unposted, it can be edited, deleted, or otherwise changed just like any other newly-added payment. Once you’ve made any needed changes, it can be proofed and posted.

Comments (0)

Sort by:  Most Recent  |  Oldest

For subscribers: VIDEOS } FAQs/TECH NOTES } LEARN
flag   © 2011 Clients & Profits, Inc. w e  l o v e  a d v e r t i s i n g